New Jersey Marijuana Dispensaries, Delivery, and Doctors
Popular Cities in New Jersey
- Blackwood, NJ 3 Businesses
- Princeton, NJ 3 Businesses
- Phillipsburg, NJ 3 Businesses
- West Orange, NJ 2 Businesses
- Clifton, NJ 2 Businesses
- Linwood, NJ 2 Businesses
- Atlantic City, NJ 2 Businesses
- East Brunswick, NJ 1 Businesses
- Montclair, NJ 1 Businesses
- Springfield, NJ 1 Businesses
- New York City, NJ 1 Businesses
- Iselin, NJ 1 Businesses
- Connect with Facebook!
- Download the App!
Is Weed Legal in New Jersey?
Yes! Both medical and recreational marijuana are legal in New Jersey. Adult-use marijuana was legalized in November 2020, but the market has yet to be finalized. On Governor Jon Corzine’s last day of office, January 18, 2010, he signed the Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act making it the 14 th state to legalize medical marijuana. While this may seem like a big step for New Jersey, the medical marijuana market is still exceedingly small after over 10 years of legalization. This stems from the strict list of qualifying conditions, the expenses and hardship of registration, and the limited doctors willing to recommend cannabis to patients. The Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act also only allows for a small number of ATCs (Alternative Treatment Centers) to be in operation at once.
Buying Marijuana in New Jersey
Buying Marijuana at a Retail Location
While the recreational market is yet to be finalized, it is possible to buy medical marijuana.New Jersey refers to its medical marijuana retailers as “Alternative Treatment Centers” or “ATCs.” As of now, there are only 9 ATCs mentioned on the state website. Each ATC undergoes a long and complex process with constant inspection and surveillance into their daily operations. New Jersey is quite excessive in making sure only the most in need medical patients can obtain marijuana. Medical marijuana also goes through a very strict process that requires each strain to be tested and studied. Each strain is put together into a book and given to patients across New Jersey.
Using a Marijuana Delivery Service
Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the state of New Jersey has allowed ATCs to deliver marijuana in order to keep patients home and stop the spread of the virus. Only ATC employees are allowed to deliver marijuana and they must sign a waiver with the state. Each delivery, however, must have a government installed GPS tracking system and a lockbox in the vehicle so each delivery car cannot deviate from their route. It is unknown if recreational marijuana will be able to be delivered, but we will keep this page updated with more information when the market is set up!
There are actually no laws requiring medical marijuana services to limit their store hours. Therefore, found throughout New Jersey, is a large variety of store hours that each ATC can determine on their own. Many of the ATCs however have elected to close their stores at 6:00 pm.
For recreational marijuana, it is unknown if there will be store hour regulations put in place. Stay tuned for more information.
Currently, no amount of marijuana can be sold to anyone without a valid MMJ card on hand along with their New Jersey ID. However, for medical patients in New Jersey, it is up to the doctor to determine how much marijuana can be purchased. New Jersey also set a cap at 3 ounces per 30-day period. Medical marijuana is packaged in ¼ and 1/8-ounce denominations and it is up to each patient’s physician to prescribe a certain amount per 30 days.
The Cannabis Regulatory Commission is in charge of setting regulations for the recreational market and has yet to set purchasing restrictions at this time. We will be sure to keep this page updated, so check back for more information!
New Jersey focuses primarily on their strains for medical marijuana but does offer edibles and oils as well. For the most part, the majority of each dispensary consists of state-approved strains, but more and more varieties of marijuana products are coming to stores. As the recreational market grows, we’re sure that more and more products will pop up in dispensaries.
Taxes on Marijuana in New Jersey
Taxes on Recreational Marijuana in New Jersey
Recreational cannabis will be subject to the state sales tax of 6.625% and up to 2% added by local governments.
Taxes on Medical Marijuana in New Jersey
Currently, New Jersey is working on a tax phase-out across the state. Originally, medical marijuana patients had to pay the state sales tax of 6.625% but beginning January 1, 2020, the sales tax was reduced to 4% for all marijuana products. From July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022, there will be a 2% sales tax. And finally, after June 30, 2022, all sales of medical marijuana will face no sales tax.
New Jersey allows for the possession of a 30-day supply for every medical marijuana patient. Therefore, the total possession differs from person to person, but no patient under any circumstance is allowed to possess over 3 ounces of marijuana products. However, it is up to the doctor to determine the amount each patient can legally possess similar to a regular prescription drug. Possession limits in New Jersey are very strict and marijuana should always be kept at home unless it is necessary to transport the product.
It is unknown what the possession limits will be for recreational users, but we will keep this page updated!
Using Marijuana in New Jersey
Areas in New Jersey that DO allow the use of marijuana:
- Private residence
- Private land, such as a backyard, that is out of sight of the public
Areas in New Jersey that DO NOT allow the use of marijuana:
- Any motor vehicle
- Any public land
- School grounds
- University campus
- Federal lands
Smoking on Federal Lands
Due to the fact that marijuana is still illegal on a federal level, any federal land is off-limits for smoking marijuana. Because of this, there are serious penalties for consuming or even possessing marijuana that will result in one being prosecuted under federal jurisdiction.
Medical Marijuana in New Jersey
Medical marijuana is still a very small industry in New Jersey. New Jersey law has established rules and regulations that limit the growth of medical marijuana, which is why there are such a limited number of ATCs (Alternative Treatment Centers a.k.a. medical dispensaries) across the state. Also, New Jersey is only allowing the sale of medical marijuana to New Jersey citizens and has not established reciprocity within the state. New Jersey cultivators also have to follow a very strict growing environment that requires laboratory testing and strictly prohibits the use of pesticides.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in New Jersey
New Jersey is known to be more strict in obtaining a medical marijuana card than other states. The list of pre-approved conditions is much more limited than other states and the conditions on the list are very severe.
Therefore, to obtain a medical marijuana card in New Jersey you must:
1. Book an appointment with a medical doctor in the state. However, you should know that many doctors in New Jersey are very against cannabis, and finding one to recommend cannabis can be a tough time-consuming process.
2. After seeing your doctor and talking about your ailments, a doctor will fill out and sign a recommendation form for medical marijuana.
3. Once approved by your doctor, you must register with the state and submit an application. If approved by the state, a card will be sent in the mail and you can begin purchasing from licensed ATCs.
Each year, a patient must set up another doctor’s appointment in order to renew their medical card. Renewing medical cards can actually be very pricey in the state of New Jersey and must be renewed annually.
Out of State Medical Cards New Jersey
As of now, out of state medical cards are not accepted in New Jersey. There also has been no mention of establishing reciprocity laws in the near future.
How to Transport Marijuana in New Jersey
Transporting Marijuana in New Jersey
Transporting weed in New Jersey is a strict rule and must be followed under the New Jersey Police Department. When marijuana is in your vehicle, you must have it sealed and out of the reach of the driver. It is always best practice to leave your weed in the trunk of your car or behind the backseat. Note that New Jerse is the leading state in arresting people for marijuana possession. Therefore, do your best to never attract attention to your marijuana while in New Jersey and always consume cannabis in the privacy of your own home.
Driving While Under the Influence of Marijuana
Driving while high is a bad idea for many reasons. Not only does it put you and other individuals at unnecessary risk, but you could also be charged with an OUI, similar to a DUI which destroys your driving record and greatly increases your insurance rates. These are lifelong penalties that can be easily avoided by calling an uber or hitching a ride with a sober friend. It’s also important to note that in New Jersey you can be charged if a passenger is lighting up next to you. When driving with your weed make sure it’s secured and complying with the rules in the section above to avoid penalty from the cops!
Driving Across State Lines with Marijuana
If you’re planning on traveling with weed to or from New Jersey, you might want to think again. Traveling with marijuana across state lines is federally illegal and violators may face large fines, jail time, and even criminal charges to their record. Even if you are heading to a nearby state that also has legalized recreational weed it is still considered a crime to cross borders with your stash.
Growing Marijuana in New Jersey
Under New Jersey law, personal cultivation of any kind is prohibited. Therefore, no matter your reason or your age, it is illegal to grow marijuana in your home. Medical marijuana users must purchase any of their marijuana products through state-licensed medical dispensaries while in the borders of New Jersey.
Find New Jersey marijuana dispensaries, deliveries, seed banks and doctors in popular places like Blackwood, Princeton, and Phillipsburg
Legal weed finally passes in New Jersey. Here’s what you need to know.
EDITOR’S NOTE: NJ Cannabis Insider produces exclusive weekly content and monthly events geared toward those interested in the marijuana and hemp industries. To subscribe, visit njcannabisinsider.biz.
Lawmakers on Thursday passed a bill that will launch a legal marijuana industry in the Garden State, overhauling decades of laws of drug prohibition.
Debates delayed the bill, but several compromises pushed it over the finish line in the Legislature. It will become law once Gov. Phil Murphy signs it.
The 241-page legislation (S21) details licensing for marijuana businesses, how products can be sold, employees’ rights to use and how it will be taxed. Here’s what it means for New Jersey residents.
Q: When will the dispensaries — the places where you can buy legal weed — open?
A: That’s not in the bill, but marijuana industry insiders estimate it could take at least a year before legal sales begin. Some say early 2022 is likely.
The current medical marijuana dispensaries can begin selling to the public once they certify they have enough marijuana for the state’s nearly 100,000 patients. But even that could take months, those in the industry say.
Q: How many dispensaries will there be?
The Cannabis Regulatory Commission will license future dispensaries. While there’s no limit on the number of storefronts, the law does state the commission can only give out 37 new licenses to grow marijuana during the first two years of legalization.
That could limit the amount of marijuana first available to customers and dictate the needed number of dispensaries.
Q: How much weed can I have? Can I be arrested still?
A: There are two bills headed to Murphy’s desk: one to establish the marijuana industry and another to decriminalize its possession. The second bill will not take effect until 120 days after Murphy signs it, but many pieces of the legalization bill take immediate effect.
The legalization makes it legal to possess up to six ounces of marijuana. Further reforms will come with the decriminalization bill, but neither make it legal to grow your own marijuana at home.
Q: Can I buy edibles?
A: Yes, the bill allows for the sale of certain edible products, but bans companies from making them into shapes of characters, people, animals, or as trademarked products that children may mistake for regular candy.
It also dictates how products should be packaged and labeled to show their THC content.
Q: Could I lose my job for smoking weed?
A: Employees will have far greater protections under the new bill, but they aren’t absolute.
The bill prohibits an employer from firing or refusing to hire a person who uses marijuana in their free time. But it does allow employers who have “reasonable suspicion” a worker has gotten high during work to drug test them and ultimately fire or discipline them if tests show they were high.
No widely-used and accepted physical drug tests for marijuana can detect real time intoxication. Instead, they highlight the presence of marijuana in the body, sometimes days or weeks after a person last consumed.
The bill also allows an employer to do random, regular or pre-employment screening, but it must include a “scientifically reliable” test of blood, urine or saliva paired with a physical evaluation to determine if the employee is currently impaired, as well as a physical examination by an employee who undergoes training to spot marijuana impairment.
Q: What will I have to pay in taxes?
A: Customers will see a 7% sales tax and a up to a 2% municipal tax when sales begin.
The bill includes a sliding tax to be paid by cannabis growers. It will rise from $10 an ounce to up to $60 an ounce as the price of marijuana falls overtime.
While customers won’t see this at the checkout line, prices will ultimately be passed onto them in the cost per ounce.
Q: Where do those taxes go?
A: All of the tax on marijuana growers, also called the Social Equity Excise Fee, is earmarked for restorative healthcare, education and legal aid programs in minority communities affected by the drug war. They include some of the state’s largest cities, like Newark, New Brunswick and Jersey City as well as smaller ones like Salem City and Bridgeton in South Jersey.
Of the sales tax, 70% of revenue will also go to such programs. The other 30% will fund the Cannabis Regulatory Commission and reimburse police department for training drug recognition experts, or officers certified to spot impaired driving.
Q: Can I come from New York or Pennsylvania to buy marijuana?
A: Yes, anyone over 21 who visits the Garden State can purchase it. That’s what many hope will happen, generating more tax revenue for New Jersey but also driving business to local restaurants, shops and gas stations.
But it is still illegal to take marijuana across state lines. This will likely be difficult to enforce with the high traffic between New Jersey and its neighbors.
Our journalism needs your support. Please subscribe today to NJ.com.
Amanda Hoover may be reached at [email protected]. Follow her on Twitter @amandahoovernj.
Note to readers: if you purchase something through one of our affiliate links we may earn a commission.
© 2021 Advance Local Media LLC. All rights reserved (About Us).
The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with the prior written permission of Advance Local.
Community Rules apply to all content you upload or otherwise submit to this site.
Legal weed finally passes in New Jersey. Here’s what you need to know. EDITOR’S NOTE: NJ Cannabis Insider produces exclusive weekly content and monthly events geared toward those