Categories
BLOG

ohio laws on growing weed indoors

Where is it Legal to Grow Weed at Home in the US in 2020?

Growing marijuana at home (so-called “home grows”) is illegal under US federal law. However, according to the U.S. Sentencing Commission and the FBI 99% of marijuana arrests are made under state law, rather than federal law. Furthermore, states aren’t required to enforce federal law. As a result, in most (though not all) situations, state laws effectively determine whether marijuana growers face criminal risk for their home grows. And, state laws vary dramatically.

You can group states into essentially three groups, based on their cultivation laws:

  • States where growing pot for recreational and medicinal use is illegal;
  • States where you can grow pot for medicinal use
  • States where you can grow pot for recreational use

States that allow recreational cultivation typically have restrictions on the number of plants that adults are able to grow. Many of these states loosen these restrictions for registered patients growing for medicinal use.

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Alabama.

Adults aged 21 and older can legally grow marijuana at home. The grower does not have to register with the authorities. One person can grow up to 6 marijuana plants, although only 3 of the 6 plants can be mature and flowering at any one time.

If there are at least two 21-year-old adults in the same household, that household can grow up to 12 plants at the same time. However, the limit does not increase if there are more than 2 adults in the household.

A qualifying patient or the qualifying patient’s designated caregiver who has been approved by the Arizona Department of Health Services may cultivate medical marijuana, so long as the qualifying patient resides more than 25 miles from the closest dispensary.

Any individual who cultivates medical marijuana must do so in a surrounded and protected area. The individual can grow up to 12 plants.

There is no higher limit if there are more than 2 qualifying patients who reside in the same household.

It is not legal to grow Marijuana at home in Arkansas.

Anyone who is above the age of 21 can grow marijuana. Each residence is allowed to grow 6 plants, no matter how many adults reside there.

There is a difference in what Prop 215 and SB240 says about growing marijuana by a medical card holder. The former states that a medical card holder can grow as much as needed, and the latter states that only 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants can be grown.

Adults over the age of 21 can grow marijuana. The individual can raise up to 6 plants with 3 plants flowering at once. A house with multiple qualifying adults can grow up to a maximum of 12 plants.

Connecticut

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Connecticut. There is no producer’s license for medical marijuana in Connecticut.

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Delaware.

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Florida.

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Georgia.

It is legal for registered patients and registered caregivers to grow marijuana for medicinal purposes in Hawaii. However, growers must register with the state government, and they can grow a maximum of 10 plants

It is not legal to grow marijuana in Idaho.

While it is illegal to use marijuana for recreational purpose in Illinois, the use of medical marijuana is allowed. However, it must be procured from a dispensary. Only companies have access to the medical marijuana cultivator license, making it illegal for individuals to grow marijuana for any purpose.

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Indiana.

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Iowa.

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Kansas.

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Kentucky.

While recreational marijuana remains outlawed, medicinal use is allowed. It is not legal to grow marijuana in Louisiana. The only legal growers in the state are the agriculture centers at Louisiana State University and Southern University.

Only adults who are above the age of 21 can grow marijuana. In each residence, a maximum of 6 mature plants and 12 immature plants can be cultivated

It is not legal to grow marijuana in Maryland. It is only allowed for medicinal use, and it must be purchased from state-licensed dispensaries.

Massachusetts

Only adults who are above the age of 21 can grow marijuana. In each home, up to 6 plants can be grown. If there are more than 2 adults, 12 plants can be grown

Adults who are older than 21 can grow up to 12 marijuana plants at home. Medical caregivers can grow up to 12 plants for up to 5 patients, meaning that caregivers can grow up to 60 plants for patients and an addition 12 plants for themselves. Caregivers must register with the state.

It is not legal to grow marijuana in Minnesota. It is only allowed for medicinal use, and must be purchased from one of the 8 Cannabis Patient Centers located around the state.

Mississippi

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Mississippi.

Growing marijuana for recreational use is illegal in Missouri. Beginning in July of 2019, Missouri will accept applications for medical marijuana cards. The state plans to allow medical marijuana cardholders to grow marijuana at home in “a n appropriately secured facility”.

Patients who require marijuana for medicinal use can grow up to 4 mature plants or 12 seedlings. However, growing for recreational use is not allowed.

It is not legal to grow marijuana for either recreational or medicinal use.

Any individual above the age of 21 can grow marijuana at home but only if there are no state-licensed retail marijuana store within 25 miles of the home.

An adult can only grow up to 6 plants and a maximum of 12 plants per household. Registered medical marijuana user may grow up to 12 plants provided they live 25 miles from the nearest marijuana dispensary or if the person is unable to travel to a medical marijuana dispensary due to illness or lack of transportation.

New Hampshire

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Hampshire, for either recreational or medicinal use.

It is not legal to grow marijuana for either recreational or medicinal use.

A Qualified Patient who has a Personal Production License issued by the NM Department of Health can grow a maximum of 12 seedlings and 4 mature plants. A single location cannot have more than 2 personal production licenses

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in New York.

North Carolina

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in North Carolina.

North Dakota

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in North Dakota.

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Ohio.

A registered medical marijuana patient who needs marijuana for medicinal use can grow it. Only 6 mature plants and 6 seedlings can be grown at a time.

It is legal to grow marijuana provided you are older than 21. For recreational use, 4 plants per residence can be grown. Patients registered with the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program can grow up to 6 plants.

Pennsylvania

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Pennsylvania.

Rhode Island

Qualifying Patients that register with the Rhode Island Department of Health can grow up to 12 mature plants. For residences with more than 2 adults, there is a limit of 24 mature plants per residence.

South Carolina

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in South Carolina

South Dakota

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in South Dakota.

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Tennessee.

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Texas

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Utah.

Adults older than 21 can grow marijuana. The limits vary depending on whether the marijuana is for recreational or medicinal use. For recreational use, 2 mature plants and 4 immature plants may be grown per residence. For medicinal use, registered medical marijuana cardholders can grow up to 2 mature plants and 7 immature plants

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Virginia

Cultivation of marijuana for recreational purposes is not allowed in the state of Washington. However, registered medical marijuana patients may grow up to 6 plants at home. If the healthcare practitioner determines the patient requires more than that, they may authorize up to 15 plants.

West Virginia

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in West Virginia.

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Wisconsin

It is not legal to grow marijuana at home in Wyoming

Updated: October 1, 2020 Written by Moon Haze

2 comments

Virginia needs to go fully legal soon.it sucks I was a criminal because of a herb that was here on this planet long before the bullshit laws that made me a laybreaker.
Got busted with 47 g13 plants and others growing in my basement in caroline co Virginia. In 2014.they gave me 5 years .haha.in this county theygive marijuana possession more time than someone that killed somebody. I know.. or cops that are dirty rotten liars. I am on disability and had a roofing business for 17 years. Work stopped when OBAMA WAS FUCKING UP THIS COUNTRY. thankfully he’s out of here.worst president Ever.i have nothing now .the you you fucking asshole dick lippa.caroline co. Virginia sheriff.

Illinois is not up to date. You can grow medical in Illinois.

Growing marijuana at home (so-called “home grows”) is illegal under US federal law. However, according to the U.S. Sentencing Commission and the FBI 99% of marijuana arrests are made under state law, rather than federal law. Furthermore, states aren’t required to enforce federal law. As a result, in most (though not all) situations, state laws effectively determine whether marijuana growers face criminal risk for their home grows. And, state laws vary dramatically.

Cannabis Cultivation Laws: State-by-State Marijuana Growing Guide

Sunday January 19, 2020

H ome cannabis cultivation is a hot topic across the country. As legal access to medical and recreational marijuana slowly spreads, citizens find themselves with more of an opportunity to grow their own pot. It can be tough to find all the state cannabis cultivation laws though, so we made this helpful guide for interested growers to quickly and easily reference the legal framework and regulations in their state.

Browse below to view the legal status of home growing cannabis in all 50 American states and the District of Columbia.

Alabama

Alabama state law prohibits cannabis in the Yellowhammer State. As such, marijuana cultivation is illegal.

Alaska

Adults aged 21 and older can grow up to six marijuana plants in Alaska. Used for either adult use or medical purposes, growers must keep in mind that only three mature and flowering plants are permitted at any given time.

Additionally, all plants must be grown out of public view and properly secured from unauthorized access.

Arizona

Arizona’s HB 2537 allows home cultivation for medical purposes if a registered patient lives more than 25 miles from their closest dispensary. State-approved patients can grow up to 12 plants, doing so in a protected, surrounded area.

Arkansas

State law prohibits home grows of any kind. Instead, patients are urged only to buy their products from state-approved dispensaries.

California

Adults 21 and over can grow their own cannabis in California. State law stipulates that each person can grow up to six plants for personal use, with only 6 plants are allowed per residence at a given time.

There are no growing caps for medical patients – registered patients are permitted to grow the amount of cannabis required for their medical treatment. However, individual counties are able to set further home cultivation restrictions. It is best to check with your local jurisdiction before starting a home grow.

Colorado

Colorado citizens can grow up to six plants, with three allowed to mature and flower at any time. Caregivers can grow additional plants, as they can be assigned to up to five patients. They are permitted to cultivate up to 36 plants. Medical patients in Colorado are allowed to cultivate six plants as well, though they are also allowed to petition for, “greater amounts [when] medically necessary to address the patient’s debilitating medical condition.”

Connecticut

Despite the somewhat decriminalized status of cannabis in Connecticut, cultivation remains prohibited. Those caught can face fines for having less than half an ounce, and upwards of a year in jail and a $2,000 penalty for possessing more.

Delaware

Although the First State does allow medical cannabis use for approved patients it does not allow patients to grow their own marijuana.

Florida

After much legal battling, Florida recently won the right to offer dry flower to its approved medical

Patients. While progress was made on that front, home cultivation is another story, where it remains prohibited in all forms.

Georgia

Like its neighbor to the south, Georgia does not allow home cultivation of any kind.

Hawaii

The Aloha State became the most recent to approve medical reciprocity, where out of state medical cardholders can obtain medicine while in Hawaii.

The state also allows patients and certified caregivers to cultivate cannabis for their own use. Before growing, a person must register as a cultivator with the state. Once approved, they can produce up to 10 plants at a time.

Idaho

Idaho does not permit any forms of home cannabis cultivation.

Illinois

Illinois began adult-use cannabis sales on New Year’s Day 2020. The issue of home growing played a central part in discussions. Ultimately, lawmakers agreed to allow medical patients to grow their own, with up to five plants per household regardless of the number of patients living there.

Indiana

Home cannabis cultivation of any kind is prohibited under Indiana state law.

The Hawkeye state prohibits cultivating cannabis at home, even for registered medical marijuana patients.

Kansas

Kansas, too, bans all forms of home growing in the state.

Kentucky

The Bluegrass State is no fan of homemade green grass. State law does not allow for any home production of cannabis.

Louisiana

Medical marijuana came to Louisiana in August 2019. However, all its weed comes from two sources: Louisiana State University and Southern University. All other growers, home or otherwise, are prohibited.

Maine

Adults aged 21 and over can grow their own marijuana. Each home can contain up to six mature and 12 immature plants. The state differentiates between medical and adult-use home grows, but the limits for cultivation are the same.

Maryland

The state allows approved medical patients to buy cannabis from state-authorized vendors. However, home cultivation is not permitted.

Massachusetts

As a legal adult-use state, Massachusetts allows all adults 21 and over to grow up to six plants. If two adults live in one home, they can collectively produce 12 plants.

Michigan

Another state that has legalized adult use of cannabis, the Great Lakes State will enable adults to grow up to 12 plants at home. Caregivers can provide support for up to five patients. They can grow for their patients once the caregiver registers with the state. Once approved, they can grow up to 60 plants if taking care of five patients.

Medical patients can be permitted to cultivate if they are unable to access a medical dispensary due to financial hardship, physical incapability, or lives too far to access a dispensary reasonably. There is no set number of plants a medical patient can cultivate, but the grow is limited to “an amount needed to harvest a 60-day supply,” totaling 10 ounces.

Minnesota

Citizens in Minnesota cannot grow their own cannabis. They can legally obtain theirs through the medical marketplace once approved by the state, however.

Mississippi

Home cultivation is banned in all its forms in Mississippi.

Missouri

Medical cannabis patients can grow up to six plants in an enclosed and secured space at their home. Home cultivators must pay an additional licensing fee to be approved.

Montana

Home growing is permitted to medical patients, who can grow up to four mature plants or 12 seedlings at any time. Two adults living together can grow up to eight mature plants and eight seedlings. All grow efforts must be reported to the state Department of Public Health.

Nebraska

Cultivation is illegal in Nebraska, as the state lacks both recreational and adult-use cannabis laws. Establishment of a medical cannabis system has been proposed under LB110, though the measure does not allow for home grows.

Nevada

Adult-use growing is allowed if a person lives 25 miles or more away from the closest dispensary. If so, an adult can grow up to six plants per person or 12 in one household. A property owner or landlord can prohibit growing on their site, while the state requires all activities occur in an enclosed, secure space.

Residents holding a medical cannabis card are prohibited from home cultivation if a dispensary opens in their county of residence. They are expected from this rule and can cultivate at home only if:

Home Cultivation Exceptions:

  • A dispensary is more than 25 miles from their residence
  • The cardholder is unable reasonably to travel to a medical marijuana dispensary
  • A strain or amount needed is not provided by a dispensary in their county
  • Or was already cultivating at home before July 1, 2013.

New Hampshire

HB 364 allows New Hampshire’s patients and caregivers to grow up to three mature plants as well as three immature plants at any time. They are also permitted 12 seedlings as well. All of which must be stored in a secure location undetectable from the street or public view.

New Jersey

The Garden State does not allow residents any type of cannabis gardening. As the state eyes legalizing adult-use, many medical patients are advocating for the right to grow their own medicine.

New Mexico

Since April 2007, medical patients and their caregivers have been allowed to cultivate up to 16 plants, with four allowed to be mature.

New York

Like its neighbor, New York does not allow its citizens to grow cannabis for any purpose.

North Carolina

Cultivation of any amount of cannabis is a felony offense in North Carolina

North Dakota

While it allows citizens to consume medical cannabis, North Dakota does not permit home growing of any kind.

Although the state does have a medical cannabis system, it remains illegal to grow in the state.

Oklahoma

Approved medical patients can grow up to six mature plants and six seedlings.

Oregon

Since 2015, adults 21 and over have been allowed to grow up to four plants at home for their own personal use.

Medical caregivers can grow up to eight plants but are capped at six adult plants at any time.

Pennsylvania

Home growing of all forms is prohibited in the state.

Rhode Island

Qualified medical patients or caregivers are permitted to grow up to 12 plants and 12 seedlings on their property in an indoor setting.

South Carolina

The state bans home growing in all its forms.

South Dakota

Like North Dakota, home cultivation is banned under current laws.

Tennessee

The Volunteer State is no fan of home growing. It remains prohibited under current laws.

Texas

The same can be said for Texas, where all types of home grows are restricted.

Add Utah to the list of states that ban home growing for medical and adult use purposes.

Vermont

Breaking the string of prohibitions, Vermont residents are allowed to grow up to two mature plants at a time, with a max total of nine at any one time.

Virginia

And back to bans. Home growing of any kind is prohibited in the state.

Washington

Medical patients are allowed to grow up to six plants at home. This figure can be enhanced if a medical practitioner believes the patient necessitates it. In this case, a person can grow up to 15 plants at a time. Adult-use cultivation is still illegal.

Washington D.C.

Adults 21 years or older are allowed to cultivate and possess up to six plants at a time, with 3 being mature and 3 being seedlings. Home cultivation for medical purposes is not allowed in the nation’s capital.

West Virginia

The state does not allow home cultivation at this time.

Wisconsin

Home growing of any kind is strictly illegal and not allowed.

Wyoming

The state does not allow citizens to grow cannabis at home for any purpose.

Be sure to stay up to date on the latest federal and state law changes to see if home growing laws change in your state.

Andrew Ward is a Brooklyn-based cannabis writer and creative. His work has appeared on Benzinga, High Times, PROHBTD and several other publications and brand blogs. He has covered the cannabis space for over three years, and has written professionally since 2011. His first book, “Cannabis Jobs,” was released in October 2019. Connect with Andrew on LinkedIn to stay up to date.

Recreational and medical cannabis legalization in many states in America opened the doors to home cannabis cultivation. Learn the legality of growing marijuana at home in all 50 states and Washington D.C.